top of page
Liisa residentuur tammikul 22.jpg
Liisa Hirsch

Contemporary music composer

Liisa Hirsch is a contemporary music composer who works in a variety of forms (from orchestral music to collaborations with dancers and filmmakers).

Her music can be characterized by sensitivity to timbre, purity of form and a research-oriented approach to composition. Microtonal reflection can also be observed in her work as her interest lies mainly in focusing on the inherent complexity of sound, reducing and setting up situations wherein a communal listening this complexity can enfold and be heard.


In 2019,  her sound composition/installation “Waterscapes of the Kokemäenjoki River” which consisted of recordings made above and below the water of the Kokenmäenjoki river was bought by Pori Art Museum into their art collection.

In 2016, Hirsch's composition “Mechanics of Flying” for orchestra received the European Composer Award at the festival Young Euro Classics in Berlin.

In 2015, Hirsch’s composition “Ascending...Descending” for solo violin and string orchestra, was given a recommendation by the International Rostrum of Composers.

Some examples of her latest projects: 

"Us... and Them" saxophone quartet with recordings of wolves (2020),

Film music for Venice Architecture Biennale Estonian section (2020). Co-composed together with Patrick Tubin McKinley,

2019 "Canvas" microtonal soundscape for string orchestra (2019),

"Cloud Tones”,

bottom of page